1 - The number of times Brad Friedel (2002), Wayne Rooney (2006) and Ben Foster (2009) have won the Alan Hardaker Trophy.

2 - The number of clubs who have retained the trophy. Nottingham Forest have achieved this twice (1978 & 1979 and 1989 & 1990) and Liverpool won the competition four consecutive times between 1981 and 1984.

3 - The number of times Manchester United have won the trophy.

4 - The number of finals which have finished goalless after 90 minutes - 1977, 1978, 1984 and 2009.

4 - The number of times Martin O'Neill has won the trophy. Twice with a player at Nottingham Forest and twice as a Manager with Leicester.

4 - The number of finals Manchester United have lost - joint highest with Arsenal.

5 - The number of times Aston Villa have won the competition.

6 - The number of sendings off in League Cup finals.
- Andrei Kanchelskis - Manchester United (1994)
- Justin Edinburgh - Tottenham Hotspur (1999)
- Clint Hill - Tranmere Rovers (2000)
- Jon Mikel Obi - Chelsea, Kolo Toure and Emmanuel Adebayor - Arsenal (2006)

7 - The number of finals Martin O'Neill has been involved in as a player and Manager.

8 - The number of finals both Aston Villa and Manchester United have reached.

15 - The number of players who have scored twice in the final including Wayne Rooney in 2006 and Didier Drogba in 2007.

15 - The number of times extra time has been required to settle the final. In 1977 extra-time was needed at Wembley and in both replays at Hillsborough and Old Trafford, before Aston Villa beat Everton 3-2.

45 - The number of seconds it took for the fastest goal in a League Cup final to be scored. It was scored by John Arne Riise of Liverpool against Chelsea in 2005.

50 - Today's final is the 50th in the competition's history and the 37th at Wembley Stadium.

137 - The number of countries where the Carling Cup final is being shown.

3.5m - Gate receipts for today's match will be approximately £3.5m.

Celebrating 50 years of the League Cup