Ben Foster became the first player in history to win the Alan Hardaker Trophy for a second time as his Man of the Match performance helped Birmingham City lift the Carling Cup.

Two years after his penalty heroics against Tottenham Hotspur clinched the cup for Manchester United, Foster was back in the Wembley Royal Box raising the trophy after a number of crucial second-half saves kept Arsenal at bay.

Named after The Football League's former Secretary, and architect of the competition, The Alan Hardaker Trophy has been presented to the Man of the Match in each League Cup Final since 1990.

Former winners include Paul Merson (1993), Dennis Wise (1998) and Brad Friedel (2002) but Foster is the only player to collect it twice - a feat made all the better as he received his third Carling Cup winner's medal thanks to the Obafemi Martins dramatic winner.

"Everybody all week has been saying it is a given Arsenal are going to win the trophy," said the 27-year-old who joined Blues from Manchester United this season. "People thought we were going to be happy and content with just turning up and would falter at the last hurdle.

"But we got over the line - we knew it was just 90 minutes of football and we had a chance. Arsenal can have all the quality players they want but when they come up against a team spirit like ours it counts for a lot.

"They had a few chances but I thought we put up a very good show. Once you get your first save under your belt you settle down.

"I had a lot to do but they were saves which had to be made and fortunately I got my body in the way."

The winner of the Alan Hardaker Trophy is voted for by members of the media at Wembley Stadium - click here to see the full list of previous winners.

You see a video interview with Foster by clicking here.