Huddersfield Town's Jordan Rhodes has been named the npower League 1 Player of the Year at the Football League Awards 2012.

Rhodes received the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 32 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Rhodes beat two other shortlisted League 1 players to the Award, Charlton Athletic's Johnnie Jackson and Sheffield United's Ched Evans.

Boasting a ratio of a goal a game, it is easy to forget that Jordan is just 22 years old. So far this term, his haul includes a double brace against Sheffield Wednesday and five strikes at Wycombe Wanderers. Since joining from Ipswich Town in the summer of 2009 - where he was prolific in the Tractor Boys youth and reserve teams - Jordan has over the last two seasons topped the Terriers' scoring charts with 23 and 22 goals respectively in all competitions. With two months to go in the current campaign, he has already eclipsed both of those totals.

On winning his award, Rhodes said: "It has come as a shock, I didn't expect to win the award with so many good candidates. My fellow nominees Johnnie Jackson and Ched Evans are equally, if not more, deserving of this accolade.

"As a striker, scoring goals is what I live for. It is a fantastic feeling when the goals go in because I know they can't always hit the back of the net.

"It is not a matter of who scores the goal though, it is about getting the three points at the end of the game. We are all working towards the same aim and because they are such a great bunch of lads at Huddersfield it makes it easier for me to do my job."

The npower Player of the Year for the Championship was won by Southampton's Rickie Lambert, while the League 2 Award went to Swindon Town's Matt Ritchie.

The shortlist was produced after managers from every League 1 club were asked to submit their top five players of the season, excluding players from their own club.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Huddersfield Town's Jordan Rhodes (left) with his npower Football League 1 Player of the Year Award with npower Domestic Markets Director Dave Cockshott