Rotherham United has been named the Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year at the Football League Awards 2012.

Tony Stewart, Chairman of Rotherham United, collected the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 32 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Rotherham United - who had already picked up the North East Award - beat competition from Bury (North West), Milton Keynes Dons (South East), Notts County (Midlands) and Portsmouth (South West) to claim the overall Award.

The Rotherham United Community Sport Trust delivers a wide range of activities across the four key themes that reflects needs of the diverse communities of Rotherham that it serves. Working in some of the most disadvantaged areas of the town, the Trust has delivered activity for over 61,000 participants in the last year.

Their showcase project from 2011 was their community cohesion project 'United 4 Communities'. This scheme engaged the different sections of the community in sporting and cultural activities such as football and dance sessions, Kick It Out activity and a schools project, aiming to bring people together and foster strong community links.

On winning the award Tony Stewart said, "The work and effort that goes into the community is tremendous, especially when you consider we have moved from Rotherham into Sheffield and now we're heading back to Rotherham.

"The attention and detail that Jamie [Noble] and his team have put in is phenomenal and they thoroughly deserve this recognition."

When assessing the category, judges looked to recognise the best overall community scheme from the 2011 calendar year based on their engagement with the local community.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Coca-Cola Head of Assets Paul Dwan (right) presents Rotherham United's Head of Community Jamie Noble (left) and Club Chairman Tony Stewart with their Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year Award