The Football League has announced the 10 goals in the running for Mitre Goal of the Year at the Football League Awards 2013.

The League has once again teamed up with football fans' favourite Soccer AM to give viewers the chance to vote for their choice of the best Football League goal of 2012.

A Football League panel pulled together the top 10 strikes of last year following submissions from clubs. The 10 contenders for the award were shown on Soccer AM on Saturday 23rd February and viewers' votes will now decide the five-strong shortlist put to guests at the Awards on Sunday 24th March.

Following Soccer AM's airing of the nominees, fans can now vote for their favourite by visiting Alongside the vote, there is also a prize draw to win two places at the Awards and £200 towards travel and accommodation.

Voting will close on Monday 11th March.

The players and clubs nominated for this year's award are:

Calvin Zola (v Oxford United) - Burton Albion
Mark Hudson (v Derby County) - Cardiff City
Michael Rose (v Portsmouth) - Colchester United
Nick Powell (v Cheltenham Town) - Crewe Alexandra
Sam Byram (v Oxford United) - Leeds United
Josh Wright (v Burnley) - Millwall
Simon Cox (v Birmingham City) - Nottingham Forest
George Boyd (v Huddersfield Town) - Peterborough United
Jean-Louis Akpa Akpro (v Leyton Orient) - Tranmere Rovers
Sam Wood (v York City) - Wycombe Wanderers

The previous winners of the accolade are:

2011 - Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City)
2010 - Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic)
2009 - Nicky Maynard (Bristol City)
2008 - Sylvain Ebanks-Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
2007 - Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United)
2006 - Joe Ledley (Cardiff City)
2005 - Stefan Oakes (Notts County)

This year's Football League Awards sees a total of 17 awards with the winners being announced at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday 24th March 2013.

For more information about The Football League Awards please click here