Graham Alexander has won the Capital One Credit to the Game Award at The Football League Awards 2013.

Alexander received the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Alexander hung up his boots at the end of last season aged 40, following a 21-year career. In that time he made 837 League appearances in spells with four different clubs - surpassing 150 League appearances for each one.

On winning the award, Alexander said: "I have had a great career, a lot of it down to hard work but some luck along the way and belief from my managers.

"I was fortunate with injuries and I have some great highlights; like making my first-team debut, playing for Scotland and then scoring a goal with my very last kick as a professional - at that moment I knew I had made the right decision to retire. It was a great way to finish my career."

A new award for 2013, this award recognises a player that has reached the end of an illustrious career in the game and is now hanging up his boots. It is a chance to celebrate the real stalwarts of The Football League.

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight's winners and all those who were nominated."

Other notable winners on the night included Watford's Matej Vydra, who walked away with the npower Championship Player of the Year Award. The npower League 1 and npower League 2 Player of the Year Awards went to AFC Bournemouth's Matt Ritchie and Port Vale's Tom Pope respectively.

Peter Shilton OBE received the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award. Previous winners include Shrewsbury Town manager Graham Turner, Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit