Charlton Athletic has been named the Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year at The Football League Awards 2013.

Mark Leckie, Head of Youth & Social Inclusion of Charlton Athletic collected the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 shortlisted for honours.

Charlton Athletic celebrated 20 years of community work in August 2012 and they celebrated the milestone with 10,000 children registering for their activities every week. The club also opened a Youth, Health and Education facility, 'Valley Central', and are the first community programme in the country to run the Council's Youth Service.

The regional South East winner, Charlton beat competition from other regional winners, Cardiff City, Derby County, Huddersfield Town and Tranmere Rovers, to claim the overall Award.

On winning the award, Mark Leckie, Head of Youth and Social Inclusion, said: "Running the council's youth service provision has been a real challenge but extremely rewarding. It has enabled us to engage with our community and deliver a wide range of programmes.

"It is a new and different way of working for us but the challenge has been the driver. Charlton is a special club and this is special work that we are doing."

In deciding on a winner judges considered the objectives of the scheme, breadth of delivery, innovation, impact and achievements in 2012, alongside each scheme's flagship project.

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight's winners and all those who were nominated."

Other notable winners on the night included Watford's Matej Vydra, who walked away with the npower Championship Player of the Year Award. The npower League 1 and npower League 2 Player of the Year Awards went to AFC Bournemouth's Matt Ritchie and Port Vale's Tom Pope respectively.

Peter Shilton OBE received the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award. Previous winners include Shrewsbury Town manager Graham Turner, Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit