Oxford United Community Officer Peter Rhoades-Brown has received a high commendation for the Tokio Marine Unsung Hero Award at The Football League Awards 2013.

Peter collected the commendation at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

The overall award was won by Millwall's Billy Neil with AFC Bournemouth's John Harriss also receiving a high commendation.

Known by the club and fans as Rosie, Peter has given 29 years of service to Oxford United since signing from Chelsea as a player. During his playing days he was immensely popular with the crowd and following a serious knee injury he became the Club's Community Officer.

His infectious personality and love of football has inspired generations of young football supporters in Oxfordshire. Through assemblies and coaching at schools to promote a healthy lifestyle and diet, Peter has contributed countless thousands of hours to help spread the name of Oxford United.

On receiving the commendation, Peter said: "I'm more than pleased with my commendation. Just to be nominated was a bonus but to be highly commended is fantastic.

"The club has changed a lot over the years but I just get on with my job, and that's probably why I'm standing here tonight. It's nice to have a pat on the back but it won't change anything, I'm still working tomorrow, but it's certainly nice to receive recognition."

When assessing the category, judges looked for someone they felt had gone above and beyond the call of duty and added that extra special bit of devotion to their club.

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight's winners and all those who were nominated."

Other notable winners on the night included Watford's Matej Vydra, who walked away with the npower Championship Player of the Year Award. The npower League 1 and npower League 2 Player of the Year Awards went to AFC Bournemouth's Matt Ritchie and Port Vale's Tom Pope respectively.

Peter Shilton OBE received the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award. Previous winners include Shrewsbury Town manager Graham Turner, Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit www.FLAwards.com.