The Football League Family Excellence Award winners have been announced for 2014.

Created in 2007, the Award recognises the outstanding experience provided by clubs for young fans and families as part of a scheme that won the Gold Award at the European Professional Football Leagues' Best Practice Awards, earlier this season.

A total of 47 clubs from across all three divisions of The Football League have been given the Award for 2014, the same number as in 2013 despite a significant increase in the benchmark standard being applied by the judging panel. More than ever this year, Football League clubs are providing families with engaging family areas and offering innovative matchday entertainment that delivers a money can't buy experience for young fans.

In announcing the successful clubs, Football League Chief Executive, Shaun Harvey, said: "The Football League Family Excellence Award gives clubs a standard to aspire to when planning their efforts to attract more families and young fans to their matches.

"It is hugely encouraging to see so many clubs receiving the accolade, demonstrating The Football League's ongoing commitment to securing the next generation of fans."

Seven clubs secured the award for the seventh year running - Doncaster Rovers, Huddersfield Town, Ipswich Town, Milton Keynes Dons, Shrewsbury Town, Tranmere Rovers and Yeovil Town. Two clubs, Blackburn Rovers and Port Vale, have been awarded the accolade for the first time.

The award recipients are decided by an independent assessment using real families that has been commissioned by The Football League, at all 72 League clubs, during the 2013/14 season.

Clubs receiving the Award in 2014:

AFC Bournemouth Millwall
Birmingham City Milton Keynes Dons
Blackburn Rovers Northampton Town
Blackpool Notts County
Bolton Wanderers Oxford United
Brentford Peterborough United
Brighton & Hove Albion Plymouth Argyle
Bristol City Port Vale
Burnley Portsmouth
Burton Albion Preston North End
Carlisle United Queens Park Rangers
Cheltenham Town Reading
Chesterfield Rotherham United
Colchester United Scunthorpe United
Coventry City Sheffield Wednesday
Crewe Alexandra Shrewsbury Town
Derby County Southend United
Doncaster Rovers Stevenage
Exeter City Tranmere Rovers
Huddersfield Town Watford
Ipswich Town Wolverhampton Wanderers
Leeds United Wycombe Wanderers
Leicester City Yeovil Town