Bury (represented by St Joseph's Roman Catholic Primary School) emerged victorious in the npower Football League Kids Cup 2011 League 2 Final this afternoon at Old Trafford. They beat opponents Barnet (represented by St John's Church of England Primary School) 1-0 in a thrilling match prior to the npower League 2 Play-Off final.

Barnet goalkeeper, Rajan Ranu made some fantastic saves in the first half from shots by Bury's Brandon Cunliffe. But in the second half Bury's Patrick Watson hit the back of the net after a one on one and a skilful finish.

Speaking after the final whistle Bury captain, James Ainsworth said: "'I can't believe we won! It was such an amazing feeling to lift the trophy and to have lots of support especially with my Dad managing the team. Father and Bury Team Manager, Mark Ainsworth said 'We have had a fantastic day being shown around Old Trafford and winning today tops it all off. I am incredibly proud of all the boys, they were just brilliant."

The npower Football League Kids Cup is a national tournament for U11 schoolchildren. Local schools go head to head to win the opportunity to represent their local Football League club in the regional stages. Each year The npower Kids Cup Final is played prior to the npower Play-Off finals at either Wembley Stadium or Old Trafford.

Gary Speed, Manager of the Welsh national team sent the finalists a special good luck message ahead of their game. He told them "Reaching the npower Football League Kid Cup Final is a huge achievement in itself so you should all be very proud of yourselves. Remember what I taught you in our coaching session and I look forward to hearing the result."



Represented by:

St Joseph's RC Primary School

13 Jack Stainton GK
7 Luke Gent
8 Max Whitehead
10 Jacob Lythgoe
11 Patrick Watson
16 Brandon Cunliffe
18 Andrew Rafferty
20 James Ainsworth (c)


Sharon Quirke
Mark Ainsworth


Dean Wright


Represented by:

St John's C of E Primary School

13 Rajan Ranu GK
Ayotobi Omiteru
4  Henry Thompson
Joseph Malinsky
7  Luke Constantinou
Nicholas Evagora
10 Eric Gashi
19 Godfrey Kalule (c)


Heath Jeffery
Maccie Dobie


Kieron Fox