By Zohaib Rashid

There will be a strong Football League presence at the inaugural Asian Football Awards which take place at Wembley Stadium on Tuesday 24th January.

Ipswich Town's Michael Chopra will fight it out with Barnet's Anwar Uddin for the Player of the Year award, which also features former Bradford City players Indy Aujla and Zesh Rehman as well as ex-Walsall left-back Netan Sansara.

Wolves defender Danny Batth, currently playing a vital role with League 1 side Sheffield Wednesday during his loan spell, is up for Young Player of the Year alongside Walsall youngster Malvind Benning. Solihull Moors goalkeeper Jasbir Singh, who began his career with Shrewsbury Town, is also in the running for the award.

Aldershot Town director Shahid Azeem has been shortlisted in the Investors in Football category while Raj Athwal, commercial manager at Watford, has been nominated for the Football behind the scenes (admin) award.

Manish Bhasin, who fronts the Football League Show on the BBC is favourite to take the Football Media Award.

The AFA has been launched to recognise the great contribution to both the professional game and grassroots initiatives by individuals and groups across the UK with South Asian heritage. The FA and Kick It Out are among those supporting this landmark initiative.

David Bernstein, FA chairman, said: "The FA is committed to diversity and inclusion across all areas of the game and I'm delighted that the Asian football community are celebrating their achievements at Wembley Stadium."

To find out more about the Asian Football Awards, visit