Crewe Alexandra have been awarded the PFA Bobby Moore Fair Play Award,for their excellent disciplinary record last season.

They will be presented with the award by PFA Executive Martin Buchan on Tuesday, before their Coca-Cola League 1 match with Yeovil Town.

The Fair Play Award was instigated by the PFA in 1988 to reward the club with the best disciplinary record throughout the Football League and the Premier League, based on penalty points accumulated for cautions and sendings off, enabling the PFA to illuminate good behaviour and sportsmanship on the field of play by its members, named after Bobby Moore of West Ham and England Captain, who was renowned for his fair play and skill.

Crewe will receive a cheque for £15,000 to be split between the players and management staff and the club's community programme. Runners-up were Rotherham United, with Dagenham & Redbridge in 3rd place and Leyton Orient 4th.

The Award has been dominated by Football League clubs and in particular Crewe Alexandra who have won it 12 times. It is a phenomenal record and is an outstanding tribute to Dario Gradi and his team and the work that they do from Academy to First Team level.

Previous winners of the award are;

1988 - Liverpool
1989 - Liverpool
1990 - Liverpool
1991 - Nottingham Forest
1992 - Portsmouth
1993 - Norwich City
1994 - Crewe Alexandra
1995 - Crewe Alexandra
1996 - Crewe Alexandra
1997 - Crewe Alexandra
1998 - Cambridge United
1999 - Grimsby Town
2000 - Crewe Alexandra
2001 - Hull City
2002 - Crewe Alexandra
2003 - Crewe Alexandra
2004 - Crewe Alexandra
2005 - Crewe Alexandra
2006 - Crewe Alexandra
2007 - Crewe Alexandra
2008 - Crewe Alexandra

For all the latest news on Crewe Alexandra please click here

For more information about the PFA please click here