Brighton and Hove Albion claimed the npower League 1 championship title on Saturday with a 3-1 win at Walsall.

The Seagulls secured promotion in midweek with a 4-3 victory over Dagenham and Redbridge and followed it up with a win at the Banks's Stadium that sees them move on to 93 points and out of reach of nearest rivals Southampton and Huddersfield Town, who both have 77 points.

It is the Seagulls first league title since they last won the third tier of English football back in 2001/02. That title success was their second consecutive championship having won the old Third Division in 2000/01.

Brighton won the Second Division title in 2001/02 by six points from Reading with a total of 90 points. Saturday's victory over the Saddlers took them past that tally, with four matches still to go

The highest points total a club has achieved since Brighton last won this division was 100 by Wigan Athletic in 2002/03, closely followed by Luton who got 98 points in 2004/05.

For all the latest news on Brighton & Hove Albion please click here

Click here for more a full round-up of Saturday's npower League 1 matches