Gillingham clinched the npower League 2 title despite surrendering a two-goal lead to AFC Wimbledon.

The already-promoted Gills drew 2-2 to seal their first silverware since 1964 after they claimed the point they needed at home.

Deon Burton and Danny Kedwell gave the newly-crowned champions a 2-0 lead at home over struggling AFC Wimbledon, who hauled themselves level through Jack Midson and Jon Meades.

Port Vale have all-but joined Gillingham in celebrating their promotion after Lee Collins' late own goal for Northampton Town saw Vale draw their game 2-2.

Bottom side Aldershot Town were 1-0 winners over fellow strugglers Dagenham & Redbridge thanks to Michael Rankine's second-half strike.

They are now three points adrift of Barnet, who scored a late winner in 1-0 win over Wycombe Wanderers through Jake Hyde in their final match at Underhill to climb out of the bottom two.

York City also earned a vital three points in their bid to avoid relegation to the Conference as they beat Southend United 2-1 thanks to goals from Adam Reed and Matty Blair.

Meanwhile, Rotherham United held onto third place thanks to their 1-0 win at Plymouth Argyle and Bradford City recorded a 1-0 win over 10-man Burton Albion as James Hanson found the net.

Oxford United comfortably beat Rochdale 3-0 at home thanks to second-half strikes by Andrew Whing, James Constable and Alfie Potter.

Elsewhere, Lee Molyneux's 35-yard free-kick saw Accrington Stanley beat Bristol Rovers 1-0, while Torquay United moved away from the relegation zone with a much-needed 2-0 win over 10-man Morecambe. Chesterfield beat Fleetwood Town 3-1 at Highbury.