Sunday 29th December

Chesterfield clung to the top of the Sky Bet League 2 table after their 10 men held out for a 1-1 draw at home to Dagenham & Redbridge.

The leaders played a man down for the majority after Sam Hird's 37th-minute dismissal, although led through a Marc Richards penalty four minutes after half-time.

Victory was beyond them though as Abu Ogogo equalised on the hour mark.

It meant the Spireites retained their lead of the division on goal difference only, as Scunthorpe and Burton both won on Sunday.

Deon Burton and Dave Syers scored the Scunthorpe United goals in a 2-0 win to ensure a miserable festive period for Oxford, who had begun the day in the automatic promotion places.

Burton Albion overcame promotion chasing Newport County 1-0 thanks to a Billy Kee goal 11 minutes from the end.

Rochdale climbed to fourth with goals from Scott Hogan and Graham Cummins in four second-half minutes.

Bury edged away from the drop zone with a 2-1 win over fellow strugglers York City. The Shakers got off to a flying start through Anton Forrester and Nathan Cameron before Michael Coulson pulled a goal back 17 minutes from the end.

York are ahead of Torquay United, who sit in the drop zone, on goal difference only as the Gulls lost 3-1 to Exeter.

Tom Nichols, David Wheeler and Alan Gow got the goals from Exeter City with Karl Hawley getting Torquay's goal.

Bottom club Northampton Town drew 0-0 at Portsmouth to drop to three points from safety.

Jonathan Franks hit an injury-time winner as Hartlepool United beat Morecambe 2-1. Jack Sampson had equalised on 87 minutes after Jack Baldwin scored first.

Mansfield Town were also 2-1 winners away from home with Anthony Howell and Matt Rhead on target against Cheltenham Town. Sido Jombati grabbed an 86th-minute consolation for the hosts.

Southend United remained sixth after a 1-1 draw at Accrington Stanley. Luke Prosser won the point after a Mark Phillips own goal.

Reuben Reid's 88th-minute equaliser earned Plymouth Argyle a 1-1 draw at AFC Wimbledon, who had led through Michael Smith on 47 minutes.